A Question of Morals: A Dating Lie

I’ve wondered for a while now; if you were on a dating site is it okay to lie about having children? I mean if you have a child is it okay to state that you don’t? The other way around would be just weird.

Your first thought in response to this controversial question might be ‘no, you absolutely can’t lie about that!’. Which I think is a reasonable reaction. However, say that you choose to click ‘no children’ and you meet a nice person and after chatting to them for a few hours you tell them that you have a child. The nice person likes you enough to be understanding about your lie and also likes you enough to meet you again. Is it so bad? I think this is possibly okay. I don’t think it’s okay to see someone several times over a period of a month or two then confess that you have children. This is too far. You should never be someone you’re not to be loved, it’s not fair on the other person. I have some experience in this myself. 

The problem with saying that you don’t have children is that the right person for you might dismiss you before meeting you. I don’t think I could date someone who had a child because it would be messy. The ex would be around too much and I would struggle connecting with the child. A constant memory of their life together. I know many people are okay with this though and I think that’s good. People shouldn’t be defined by being a parent. That person is still an individual.

I rarely condone lying, I usually despise deceit but this is a tough one.

What do you think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Question of Morals: A Dating Lie

  1. Brad Pitt says:

    I think you need to work things out with Mike, don’t be a tit Kayls 🙂

  2. Tony Hawks says:

    It’s good to check in on Ina while

Leave a Reply

